In order to become a licensed naturopathic medical doctor (NMD), similar to the process to become a licensed MD, students must attend an accredited 4-year residential [naturopathic] medical school and pass an extensive postdoctoral board examination. 

Currently in the United States only 19 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and Virgin Islands recognize the license of naturopathic doctors. In addition, each state has a different scope of practice.

  • For example: In Arizona, you can practice acupuncture under the NMD license. In California, in order to practice acupuncture you need to be a Licensed Acupuncturist (LAC). 

States Currently Licensed

  • Alaska

  • Arizona

  • California

  • Colorado

  • Connecticut

  • District of Columbia

  • Hawaii

  • Kansas

  • Maine

  • Maryland

  • Massachusetts (1/11/17!)

  • Minnesota

  • Montana

  • New Hampshire

  • North Dakota

  • Oregon

  • Pennsylvania (11/3/16!)

  • Utah

  • Vermont

  • Washington

  • United States Territories:

Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon

© 2018 by Carly Monson

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now